Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Lexi starts Day Care, er, Kindergarten...

Lexi starting school this year has been kind of bitter for me.  She would have been a Kindergartener.  I feel so sad that she doesn't get to have that experience.  I keep reading on Facebook and blogs about all of my friends getting their kids ready to start Kindergarten and I just feel bad that Lexi isn't a part of it.  With the Danish school system, she won't start school (grade 0) until next year.  So, this year she will continue going to her Danish Learning "Kindergarten."  They call it Kindergarten, but it's really Day Care.  Her class is quite different from most in that they actually work on learning something, in this case, Danish.  They have moved buildings and instead of meeting with just her class, she will be with a regular Danish Kindergarten for part of the day.  This gives her move people to play with, but sometimes I feel somewhat unsettled knowing that I really am just sending her off to Day Care.  They don't teach ABC's, 123's or anything like that.  So, we will be working on a lot of things like that at home this year. Anyway, Lexi mostly enjoys going and especially has blossomed on the playground where she climbs trees and does a lot of adventurous things.  Her teacher is really great and overall, I'm sure another year with this program will be good for her.  She is starting to pick up more and more Danish and she tries really hard to use it.  She's such a sweet little girl.

 Kindergarten Stats
Age: 5 years 5 months
Height: 41 inches (3ft. 5in.) (19%)
Weight: 35.2 lbs. (9%)
Hair color: Blonde/Brown
Animal: Kitten
Food: Lasagne & Spaghetti
Game: Wii Princess Game, Hello Kitty Bingo
Toy: Collie (Lg. Stuffed toy horse)
Thing to do: Play Wii, Play with Play Doh
Book: Sleeping Beauty, Down by the Cool of the Pool & Dolphin Book
Color: Light Pink
Movie: Even though I haven't seen it, Brave is going to be one of my favorites & Spy Kids 2 & Sleeping Beauty
Primary Song: Teach me to Walk in the Light & Popcorn
My best friend is: Ekra
Other friends I like to play with: Mattias, Amale, Aliza, Eda
Things I like to do with my friends: Play in the Sand Box, Make cake
If I had a pet it would be a: Kitten
named: Meow Meow
What people like about me: I can't think of anything...
Things I can do really well: Backward Somersaults (ok?), Something cool on the couch (hmmm?), Run with fast shoes (hmmm, ok?...)

Monday, August 13, 2012

Myra starts 1st Grade, Again...

 After a short, 6 week summer break, Myra once again started school again.  She is now in the 1st grade, again.  She would have started 2nd grade if we still lived in the states, but here they start a year behind.  She is still in her Danish learning class and seems to really enjoy it.  We are very happy that there are several more kids, including a couple of girls.  One girl in particular, she really gets a long with.  A little girl from Canada that speaks English, so that's really nice for both of them that they have someone they can easily communicate with.  And she lives just across from us, so they play together a lot out of school as well.  Myra is starting to get really good with her Danish and has even been doing some translating for me.  She loves reading and it's common to find her at night, in bed with her flashlight and a book.  She loves playing with her siblings and is a big help to her parents.  I think this will be a good year for her!

 1st/2nd Grade Stats
Age: 7 years 3 months
Height: 50 inches (4ft. 2in.) (73%)
Weight: 54 lbs. (62%)
Hair color: Blonde/Strawberry Blonde
Animal: Dog
Food: Taco Soup & 7-Layer Bean Dip
Game: Disney Guess Who I Am Game
Toy: Ariel - White Stuffed Dog & Diamond - Big Stuffed Dog
Thing to do: Play with my friends, Swing, Play with little Brother & Sister, Eat, Ride Bike
Book: Judy Moody & Fancy Nancy
Color: Rainbow, Changes Every Day
Movie: Alvin and the Chipmunks & Spy Kids
Primary Song: I love to see the Temple
My best friend is: Aisha, But if we didn't live in Denmark it would be Camille
Other friends I like to play with: Anna, Aliza, Eda, Eric, Vincent
Things I like to do with my friends: Roller Skate, Play Super Hero Games, Swing
If I had a pet it would be a: dog
named: Fluffy
What people like about me: My new haircut, they think I'm sweet, I'm helpful
Things I can do really well:  Ride my Bike, Roller Skate, a little swimming, scooter, reading, coloring